Everlasting Smile

Feature Image: Courtesy, “humouringthegoddess”, thankyou Claudia, for permitting me to use this beautiful photo, I’ve tagged the picture, “Smiling Leafs”.

 

My eyes, narrowly cracked.

My cheeks, slightly etched.

I rest here, retracing every mile.

Remembering, your everlasting smile.

My lips, already dry.

My tongue, trying to say goodbye.

I wonder, was it all worthwhile.

Remembering, your loneliest smile.

My throat, lumpy and sore.

My chest, heavy as never before.

I look back, recalling your life-style.

Remembering, your younger smile.

My lungs, empty and tight.

My legs, weak and light.

I relive, your personal exile.

Remembering, your generous smile

My head, spinning from fright.

My heart, deep and out of sight

I sleep alone, crying like a child.

Remembering, your everlasting smile.

 

Ivor Steven.

Published by

ivors20

A retired, part-time plumber, former Carer of my wife, for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. Writing poetry about those personal thoughts throughout and beyond the life as a Carer.

36 thoughts on “Everlasting Smile”

    1. Sincerely Thankyou Kelvin, always appreciate your comments. I’m still trying to fathom, how I can explain to the world, how a person suffering so much, could be so gracious with her situation, and remain a smiling Angel

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, this could get one finding an handkerchief. So sad yet so beautiful.
    I love your art of writing. Your description couldn’t be any better. Nice and glad to have followed you.

    Like

    1. Haha, I’ve always got plenty of hankerchief’s on hand, and that reminds me, if you go back on my site and find “This Fence” July 5th, there’s a little 2 liner, attached at the bottom of the piece, called “Tears”, hope you enjoy, and thanks from taking the time to read several of my poems….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember this. I remember how much I cried reading it. This was our connection. Same life thread… It was so powerful to me. Yes. I can see why he liked it. I can feel her in every word. You’ve captured her beautifully. You’ve also captured your love of her. I need some tissues now. Need to keep those in stock always. LOL.

    Thank you for you. What was my life before these moments? Not sure. But it is so much better now.

    Like

    1. You bring me to tears Mel, but don’t worry, they’re tears of “Liquid Joy” [another poem of mine], and I think we do the teary thing to each other, and my feelings just continue to pour out into my writings, You’ve definitely helped me find myself and I feel stronger and clearer because of you, haha, there’s a song there somewhere xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

