Smoldering

My internal flame for her, still flickering.

Burning like the old Olympic torch.

Eternally glowing, without a permanent home.

Charring the timbers of all her defenses.

The leftover ashes, blistering my soul.

The fire-front ruins, leaving me dark and hollow.

A flame, not to be easily extinguished.

A fire, always smouldering in my heart.

 

Ivor Steven.

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

47 thoughts on “Smoldering”

      1. Who said “Love makes the world round”, love is like a big creamy sponge cake, beautiful at the start, but if you eat too much, makes you sick inside……hehehe. I loved my mum’s sponge cake.

        Like

      1. πŸ˜€ you got it right mostly.. it’s Banglorean.. just the e instead of the i.
        And I’m the first? Nice!

        Like

      2. Thanks for the correction, I’m living proof, you’re never too old to learn. hehe… And I see you’re still reading my poems, thankyou for reading. Scroll down to “This Lost Shadow” which I had published in 2012.

        Like

      3. Sure! 😁
        I’m supposed to be studying now… But I can’t stop reading them. I’ll start studying in 10 minutes or so…😝, After reading ‘This Lost Shadow’

        Like

  1. “Charring the timbers of all her defenses.” is my favorite line of this poem. Thanks for leaving your reflections on my poems when you visit my blog. Feedback is always appreciated. Keep on writing my poet friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, the picture, recently I went to watch my niece sing, she’s a fledgling opera singer, having graduated last year. She was performing with the prestigious Melbourne Bach Choir, at the Geelong Basilica. I go along watch her at every opportunity, beautiful voice

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh…I love it. So beautiful. Maybe…maybe one of my favourites of yours…


    The leftover ashes, blistering my soul.

    The fire-front ruins, leaving me dark and hollow…”

    What a talent you are my friend πŸ–€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.