Looking At The Mirror

This Week, Calen again invites us to revisit her sandbox. She asks:

“You find yourself in a quiet room looking at your reflection in this beautiful old mirror. What do you see? Is there anything in particular you like about yourself? Is there anything you don’t like? Tell us about it.”

I see an oldish bloke, who likes to write poetry

Attention seeking, or even some notoriety

Why don’t I try to write a bigger story

Flash fiction, and there’s enough for a book

Am I too afraid to really look

All my poems are quite shortish

Like last years birthday cake wish

Maybe I’ll say, “I’m far too lazy”

I can’t tell them, I’m a bit crazy !!

Nor that I’m a cute Lord of wizardry

 

I better start on another view

They want to know about me and you

I see a bald headed man, like my dad

And that’s not at all bad

I always said, if I grew up

To be half as good as my dad

I’d be very happy and proud

And well ahead of the crowd

He was a kind and thoughtful man

I suppose I’m honest and lend a hand

I see I’m now showing my age

My journey has torn many a page

And it’s not that I’m overly sad

It’s my veneer that show’s everyone I’m glad

I’ve lived my promise, for better and for worse

I did my job, a carer during her curse

 

Ivor Steven (c)

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

49 thoughts on “Looking At The Mirror”

  1. every thing you saw as a possible bad seemed to be a very good instead! bravo! and the imperfections we think we see are a life lived with much intensity. I have scars that will never heal properly, both externally and internally but they what makes me this person that someone might love. just as you have, everything about you is a grace given freely and generously. I think a bald wizard is very cute! I love that you mention your dad here, my dad was very precious to me, if I could live half the life he did, i would be so proud too. i wrote a lot about him in my early days of blogging. thank you for a sincere and brutal look in your mirror!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gina, I don’t think I could’ve looked in the mirror without mentioning my dad, everyone says I look exactly like him 😊 And yes we do have our scars, and we learn to live with them as time goes by.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Ivor and Peter, My mum was small, my dad was tall and I am somewhere in between, though on the shorter end rather than taller. I never wanted to look like either of them, but unfortunately I inherited my dad’s small mouth and my mother’s large teeth. Now that was unfair. Whenever I look in a mirror I see my mother’s untamed hair, her double chin, but thankfully glimpses of her smile.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. After Mum died we expected Dad to follow shortly after. He surprised everyone by looking after himself, with a little help from my sister, for over 10 years. He died at 96, only after falling, and breaking his hip!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “I see a bald headed man, like my dad
    And that’s not at all bad
    I always said, if I grew up
    To be half as good as my dad…”

    This so made me smile. I totally get it. My son would say the same thing about his Papa. Though his dad, his nibs, has FULL mane of hair like a gray fox! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.