Odds And Ends, Curiosity Going Around The Bend

Weekly Prompts: Word Prompt, This weeks word prompt: Curiosity.    And there’s plenty of curiosity in these odds and ends pieces of poetry that I’ve compiled below. They are all verse comments that I’ve made to some of my readers.

Curiosity

It’s the devil in me

curiosity of a busy bee

I just had to see

your words of poetry

Pencils

I never retire without my note-pad nearby

My lead pencil, my bedtime writing scribe

Sometimes heavy, other times light

A necessary sword to fight off dark nights

Words To You

You write to me

I write to you

Your thoughts say it all

Words do fall

Out of a crack in the wall

Stand on the rubble tall

Let the dust settle

Light up the Kettle

Have a cuppa and a chat

Light flows back, through the crack

Writing is our world

Words are our pearls

Drum Beat

Writing is a conundrum

Keep beating your drum

There’s a tune in your pen, for every line

Do not worry about the time

It’s only the sound of a chime

Everlasting is your journey’s climb

Rain And Pain

I no more seek pain

I feel caressed by the rain

Soothing my daily strain

Let it rain, I’m over being a champion

Clouds

oh, to float on a cloud high

be at peace with the sky

quietly breathe in and sigh

look down and wonder why

Upside Down

hanging around upside down

gives you a top view of the ground

reverses the annoying busy sounds

lets you think of life’s endless bounds

Wet Grass

You lay there bathing in moonshine

Caressing tingles down your spine

Freshening evening dew

Letting the moist grass entwine you

Lovely

Love has all the answers

Let us all pack our travel-bags

Join the world’ dancers

Let us all wave our white flags

Power

Is the shift of power

For every-ones good

Living in their glass towers

Hearts made of plastic wood

Leaving us to bow and cower

Raped by their greedy falsehoods

I Am You

You are you

From top to toe

You are you

From arm to palm

You are you

A heart full of gold

You are you

A light for our souls

 

Ivor Steven (c)  2018

 

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

52 thoughts on “Odds And Ends, Curiosity Going Around The Bend”

      1. I’m not on the plane yet, but I’m feeling a little betterer today, I’m leaving tomorrow at 9.00am, so I’ve still got 24 hours to be even more betterer. …. And yes, I’m really happy with my collection of little instantaneous poems, I think the exercise of writing poem comments is definitely good for my overall poetry…. xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a couple I wrote for you, 😊 in amongst my collection. Your fav pick, is one I wrote for Kaylaann. And she actually inspired me to write this collection. 😊 😊

      Like

  1. My… this was a long one! Just as I thought aw that was lovely another one came along. Thank you. Hope the visit to the doctor’s went well for you. I’m still doing the body heal yourself! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s 3.00am here, coughing has woke me, I’ve had Chest X-rays, I’m on antibiotics, and back to Doctor’s in the morning, I think drugs are starting to work, and I’ll see by lunchtime if I’m able to go. As long as I’ve not got pneumonia, I might nearly make it 😕😉😩😊

      Like

    1. Thank you Punam, I’m slightly betterer this morning,, if the X-rays are ok (no pneumonia) i’ll be going on about half rat-power…. xxx I’m glad you liked my collection of little poems, they’ll instantaneous ones, written on the spot, and I’m pleased with how they come out. I find it a very helpful exercise for my actual poetry writing, my mind seems to be always active and in rhyme and rhythm

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carolyn, thank you for the prayer’s, I do hope someone is listening, …. I had chest X-rays yesterday, and I’m on antibiotics(very strong ones), back to Doctor this morning, as long as I’ve not got pneumonia I’ll be nearly good enough to, on about 60% rat rat-power.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve got the all-clear, no pneumonia, yeah !!, and I’m on the plane in about 15 hours, I’ll be a bit more betterer by then. And we don’t start touring until Thursday, so a bit of time to rest up….. xx

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Haha, I haven’t even left Australia yet, have had two flight delays, one in Melbourne, and now another long delay here in Sydney. Met a Lady called Sue on the flight, Melbourne to Sydney, and yep, she now has my website address, and she is a poet,, and a member of Canberra Writers,,, who is Sometimes this world we live in is a fascinating place…. 😆 😆

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.