Storms and Old Bogeymen

A special thank you to Derrick Knight for allowing me to use his photograph from yesterday’s article “Wind Swept”, as my Feature Image…. https://derrickjknight.com/2020/08/25/windswept/


Storms and Old Bogeymen



Nature’s winds blew and blew

Erasing blue sky and sun from view

Our fears rattling inside her typhoon



Her storms ferocious howlings

Were foreboding furious growlings

But our gardens survived her violent prowlings



Was nature’s sky beginning to cave-in?

Beneath the pale bones of old bogeymen

Will our collective strength eventually win?




Ivor Steven (c) August 2020

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

35 thoughts on “Storms and Old Bogeymen”

    1. I’m so pleased you enjoyed my poem, and the lovely song from the Kinks… and I am honoured to be able to feature your photograph, I think my selection complemented my poem perfectly…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ivor, I like the imagery in this poem. The first two verses describe a typhoon, but the last verse seems to transition to a more generalized set of issues where man is pitted against disaster…global warming? covid19? nuclear holocaust? The imagery shifts. “sky caving in,” “pale bones of old bogeymen.” I like the hopeful last line, “Will our collective strength eventually win?” Wonderful poem, Ivor…a masterpiece! Take care, Cheryl ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cheryl, for your kind comments that accurately depict what I was trying to impart into my poem…. A WP friend said this about my poetry…

      “Paul Sunstone says:
      March 1, 2019 at 11:28 am Edit

      I just now had an epiphany, Ivor. You’re a master of suspense. I should have noticed it before, but you have a real knack for creating anticipation in your readers. At least in me, that is. You’re so good at it, I bet you do it instinctively. The best skills, I think, are things we learn so well, we do them as if by instinct.
      At any rate, it carries me through your poems. It pulls me along effortlessly on my part. I never need make myself read the next line.

      They were grand words from Paul, and I suppose I agree with him, especially about style being instinctive…. πŸ˜€πŸ˜Ž

      Like

  2. Your poems and Derrick’s photos pair so brilliantly together!
    You two should do a coffee-table book of photos and poems!

    You have captured what is going on in the world these days…and so often the storms/weather mirrors how we are feeling in our heads and in our hearts.

    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
    PS…One of my fav Kinks songs! We must remember the storms do pass. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wasn’t a very popular song, but I remember it well.. and the lyrics were perfect for my little poem… And me and derrick have formed a great bond of mutual appreciation…. his photos are superb and for me they are wonderful human interest stories, … πŸ˜€πŸ’™πŸŒ ((hugs))

      Liked by 1 person

    1. These sort of dramatic finale punches are a habit of mine, here’s an interesting review of my poetry by Paul Sunstone, last year,
      “I just now had an epiphany, Ivor. You’re a master of suspense. I should have noticed it before, but you have a real knack for creating anticipation in your readers. At least in me, that is. You’re so good at it, I bet you do it instinctively. The best skills, I think, are things we learn so well, we do them as if by instinct.
      At any rate, it carries me through your poems. It pulls me along effortlessly on my part. I never need make myself read the next line.

      πŸ“–πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.