Swan

Featured Image Above: A photograph I copied from Derrick Knight’s fabulous site, and was taken by his wife Jackie. You may visit his article/site by clicking on this link >> Preening Swans – derrickjknight


Swan




Honouring the ancient lakes of Aberdeen

Are you our planet’s queen

Shyly overseeing this world’s fading green



Serenely grateful and gracious

Solemnly thoughtful and virtuous

Calmly valorous and veracious




No matter your birthright

You are equally adorned black or white

Colour is not your feathers blight

But nature’s pearls of delight






Ivor Steven (c) January 2021

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

44 thoughts on “Swan”

  1. Charming post, Ivor. Lovely poem and photo and of course, the beautiful classic “Swan Lake.” ❀ A pair of mute swans spent a week on the little lake behind our house when my children were at home. It was delightful to watch them. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautiful swan photo! Jackie and Derrick capture such amazing photos! πŸ™‚
    I can see how their photos inspire your poetness! πŸ™‚
    Your poem is beautiful, too, Ivor! A lovely tribute to the elegant, graceful, gorgeous swans! πŸ™‚
    I enjoyed the swan-dancers in the video! They truly channeled their swanness! πŸ˜‰
    (((HUGS))) πŸ™‚
    🦒 🦒 🦒

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear Carolyn… and I love Derrick’s site.. for me it’s my breakfast viewing, and always a grand way to kick start my day…. and my poem had a little message from Ivor…. “no matter if we are born black or white, we are all pearls in ‘Mothers’ eyes’ ” … πŸ¦’πŸ¦’πŸ§πŸ§πŸ˜€πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜πŸ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Derrick has had a few photos of swans lately, and I often mention that I find the swan a magnificently majestic bird, and thus my poem was born… I hope my little piece did the lovely creatures justice……

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always had a fondness for swans ever since reading β€œthe ugly duckling”. I especially like your 2nd stanza – the rhythm and words were delicious! You hit a triple crown with the poem, the picture and the video!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that video… everytime I watch it I am awestruck… simply an amazing piece of dancing.
      .. and I am fascinated by how the swan is so majestic … πŸ˜€πŸ˜πŸ¦’πŸ¦’

      Liked by 1 person

  4. If you don’t mind me asking, how do you get your posts to appear on the reader twice per day? Feel free to answer by email if you’d rather not discuss here. It’s just a clever strategy particularly with all the time zone differences!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes being in Australia I have large time differences…. . so I have to post twice daily … I’ll send you an email… do you use the wordpress “Block” system… … I’m about to have dinner now… Cheers

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The Swans are magnificent and regal they are the true royalty of our planet. The swim peacefully and have one life long mate.

    Swan Lake one of the most loved ballets. The first time I saw this was as a little girl watching it on the TV I think I was mesmerised by the performance and has stayed with me all these years.

    The White Swan or Black Swan white or black are all the colours blended into one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.