Dust and Rain

Feature Image Above: A watercolour painting by Carole Steven.




Dust and Rain



Life eventually returns to dust

Think me morbid if you must

Funerals do that to me

Eulogies sting me like a bee

That gentle bite numbed my mind

To that sea of blurry faces, sincere and kind




My selfless tears did drown

In memories of pain

Of her being lowered down

On that day when I could not stop the rain






Ivor Steven (c) January 2022

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

50 thoughts on “Dust and Rain”

  1. Aw. 😦 Yes, I can relate. Funerals are hard. For me it is sad for the loss of the dear one, plus at their funeral I start remembering all those who have passed on over the many years. So all the grief builds up.
    But, it’s okay to give ourselves permission to let the rain fall.
    I know you have lost many dear ones…Carole, your Dad, your Mom and too many others. 😦
    (((HUGS))) ❀
    PS…Beautiful painting by Carole! Heart-touching poem by Ivor! A fave song by CCR! All three bring the emotion, for sure.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Gorgeous painting, Ivor. ❀ I love the beautiful blues and the wet, loose style. Great reflections. How I wish I could paint like that! Carole's painting is a treasure. Glad you found it!

    Your poem is beautiful. "Eulogies sting me like a bee." That line resonates with me and is undeniably true. Yet, I remember a lightness and euphoria on the way home after friends and family recounted their memories at my husband's two-hour memorial service. I have watched a video of that beautiful service many times.

    I hope you can find more paintings to surround yourself with exquisite beauty and sweet memories. ❀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yeah .. there are more paintings on the way … and yes I’m fine afterwards when we are all reminiscing .. That initial trigger always gets to me .. Thank you for your kind and supportive words Cheryl ..πŸ’›πŸŒπŸŒ

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.