The Final Sunset

I have a few thank you’s to accompay the writing of my piece “The Final Sunset”.

Firstly my opening stanza was written as a response to Susi’s inspiring post today, thank you Susi. https://iwriteher.com/2022/02/24/peace-please/ Thank you to David Redpath, for reminding me of Bob Dylan’s poignant protest song, “Masters Of War” , which I have attached below. https://highwaybloggery.com/2022/02/24/masters-of-war/ , and thank you to Derrick Knight for allowing me to use his stunning “Sunset” photo as my featured photo here on my site, https://derrickjknight.com/2022/02/24/the-assistant-photographer-saves-the-day/

The Final Sunset 
 
 
Wrong versus right 
War versus peace 
Greed versus commonsense 
Destruction versus harmony 
Killing versus living 
 
War is not the peopleโ€™s choice 
 
Is this to be our final sunset 
Will she justifiably refuse  
To open her golden eye 
Upon another shattering dawn  
Of our manufactured doom






Ivor Steven (c) February 2022

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

63 thoughts on “The Final Sunset”

    1. Yes .. the situation is horrendous, .. and to think Bob Dylan’s songs from 50 year ago are more than relevent today .. damn governments and politicians haven’t learnt a thing … like wild pack animals, they would rather have a fight than a feed ..

      Like

  1. Wonderful how you got inspiration from several people!
    Derrick’s photo is such a beautiful, powerful image of so many things…trying to fly above the fray…holding on to see the next dawn…being grateful for one more day of life…finding hope, courage, and peace in nature… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your poem is powerful, timely, and poignant, Ivor. I imagine nature IS weary of us earth-inhabitants.
    It’s been a week of sadness, concern…praying for the peoples on both side who do not want war and will be hurt deeply.
    (((HUGS)))
    ๐Ÿ•Š โค๏ธ ๐Ÿ™

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Since the Tower of Babel
        Kings and Pharaohs
        have built great pyramids
        and splendid monuments
        to their giant sized egos
        having won
        many a bloody battle
        Evil thus emboldened
        and enabled
        The slaughter of innocents
        an everyday occurrence
        just as when Cain
        murdered his brother Abel
        A crime that still echoes
        throughout space and time
        with no meaningful resistance

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Bloody History, Bloody Tears

        Can you hear the ghosts of Sunday?
        โ€œSunday, Bloody Sundayโ€

        From your distant countryโ€™s
        Of peace and tranquility
        Within your rural trees of serenity

        Beyond invisible borders of rivalry
        Between oblivious inequality
        From the old schoolyard bully
        Overseeing an avoidable atrocity

        Again another โ€œSunday, Bloody Sundayโ€
        How can they forget history so quickly?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I once went to Derry
        just for a bit of fun
        and some Irish craic
        but someone
        with their head up their bum
        tried to tell me that
        I was actually in London
        and to go wait
        at Butcher’s Gate for
        the next round of bedlam?!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Paul .. itโ€™s confusing and disappointing.. but I donโ€™t know what the โ€œwarโ€ the is about .. in these modern times of advanced communication .. to go to war seems so antiquated and childish

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Putin possesses a deranged and evil mind. I feel desperately for those poor souls in Ukraine and for the shame that the Russian people must be feeling for this senseless and outrageous attack on another country.
    No one wants another war in Europe, Ukraine seems so far away and yet only three hours from London.
    Your poem is beautiful, Ivor. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.