The Ancient Fern Survives

Featured Image Above: by Derrick Knight > https://derrickjknight.com/2022/06/10/rich-pickings/

The Images below: are from my courtyard ..





The Ancient Fern Survives




Selfish, unopened minds remain numbed

False eye-lashes are heavy and closed

Botoxed lips are silent and sealed

And elephant ears have been pegged out of sight




But there under our careless feet

The earthโ€™s ferns have agelessly survived

Three hundred and sixty million years

Without changing the appearance of their golden leaves

That timelessly regenerate themselves

By naturally releasing their fertilising spores






Ivor Steven (c) June 2022

Published by

ivor20

G'day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I'm an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I've been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I've been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems.

31 thoughts on “The Ancient Fern Survives”

  1. Gorgeous photo by Derrick! He is such an amazing photographer! I so enjoy how his photos inspire you to write such wonderful poems, Ivor! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your photos are lovely, too, Ivor! I see Owl! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your poem is powerful, vivid, beautiful, and a wonderful tribute to ferns!
    I LOVE FERNS! ๐Ÿ™‚ May they always live on!
    (((HUGS)))
    ๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿชด๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฑ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Theyโ€™ll definitely out live us human-beans ๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒฑ.. . That photo of Derrickโ€™s immediately captured my imagination and then I was amazed to find out how long fernโ€™s have been on our planet ๐ŸŒ โ€ฆ and my poem grew from there ๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒฑ.. yes I snuck in the wise owl Oscar .. he lives in my fernery ๐Ÿฆ‰๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿค—๐Ÿถ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for this clarification reply. I was in two minds when reading this poem..I felt it was a contrast of the modern plastics and nature’s charm. Also I felt it might be a metaphor of how the ferns look.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.